Ahmedabad 2008 Bomb Blast: Ahmedabad serial explosions case: 38 sentenced to death, 11 lifers, 28 released

A special court today sentenced 38 people to death in the 2008 Ahmedabad serial blast case. The judgment comes nearly 14 years after the deadly blasts.

The verdict was handed down by Special Court Judge AR Patel. The death sentence was imposed under the provisions of the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act (UAPA) and Article 302 of the ICC.

The court also imposed a fine of Rs 2.85 lakh each on the convicts.

Eleven of the convicts received life sentences. 28 of the defendants were acquitted.

Some of those who received death include Safdar Nagori, Qayumuddin Kapadiya, Zahid Shaikh, Qumarudding Nagori and Shamsudding Sheikh.

Compensation of Rs one lakh was given to each of the kills. Victims with serious injuries will receive Rs 50,000 each and those with minor injuries, Rs 25,000 each.

As many as 56 people were killed in the blasts that rocked the state’s mall and ripped through buses, markets and other public places. More than 200 people were injured.

On February 8, the special court convicted 49 people for the coordinated attacks. The trial against 77 defendants in the case (78 defendants in total, one of whom later became an approver) had concluded in September 2021.

The conviction was handed down under various articles of the ICC, including murder, sedition and war against the state, as well as offenses under the UAPA and the Explosive Substances Act.

The explosions took place on July 26, 2008, with 21 bombs detonated in 70 minutes. The targets included the government civilian hospital and the LG hospital run by the municipality of Ahmedabad, as well as parked cars and bicycles.

Police reports also show that as many as 29 live bombs were found in Surat over the next two days.

According to police investigations, members of IM, a faction of the outlawed SIMI outfit, were behind the serial explosions.


Comments are closed.